Who We Are


Alan Meyers MD, Physicians for a National Health Program

Benjamin Day, Healthcare-NOW

Beth Kontos, American Federation of Teachers Massachusetts

     Alternate: Nick Gula, President, UMass Dartmouth Maintainers AFT Local 6350

Christopher Spears, Our Revolution Massachusetts

David Foley, Service Employees International Union Local 509

David Cohen, Franklin County Continuing the Political Revolution

Dean Robinson, Massachusetts Teachers Association

Diana Stein, League of Women Voters Amherst

Ellen Church, League of Women Voters Massachusetts

Erin Leahy, Act on Mass.

Jeane Anastas, National Association of Social Workers Massachusetts Chapter

Jon Weissman, Western Mass. Medicare for All

Judith Atkins, Franklin County Continuing the Political Revolution

Katharine Nash, Democratic Socialists of America Massachusetts Chapters

Lyn Newkirk, South Shore Medicare for All

Patricia Healey RN, Massachusetts Nurses Association

Peter Knowlton, United Electrical Workers

Organizations are listed for identification purposes only, except for official organizational representatives, whose organizations are in bold.


Chair Jon Weissman

Secretary Patricia Healey

Treasurer Lyn Newkirk​​


President/Clerk Benjamin Day

Treasurer Judith Atkins

Members Alice Swift, Hubert Caplan MD, Patricia Berger MD, Sandy Eaton RN


Marcia Angell MD
Physicians for a National Healthcare Program

Representative Jennifer Benson
Lead Sponsor, Healthcare Cost Control Bill

Jordan Berg-Powers
Mass Alliance

Elaine Bernard PhD
Harvard University​


Stephanie Nakajima
Executive Director

A former Mass-Care intern, Stephanie has been working in the single-payer space since 2012. Formerly Director of Communications at Healthcare-NOW, the national single-payer umbrella organization, Stephanie brings seven years of experience organizing for Medicare for All at the national level. Stephanie was also on the board of Mass-Care for two years before becoming Executive Director.

Stephanie lives in Dorchester.

Kate for MassCarecrop

Kate Bigbee
Research Analyst & Community Organizer

Kate is a Human Services student at Northeastern University & has been part of the Mass Care team since January 2023. She brings her experiences in GIS and Computer Science to create our Cosponsor Maps and to manage our website! Kate also helps with data collection/ tracking, research, and organizing across MA to gain support for single payer.

Kate lives in Fenway-Kenmore.

Don Berwick MD
President, Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Kathleen Bittetti
Artist Foundation

John Bonifaz
Western Massachusetts Activist

Jeff Crosby
Labor Leader for Single Payer

Linda DeBenedictis
Patients Rights Group

Carlos AF Da Silva
Immigrant Community Leader

Michael Dukakis
Former Governor of Massachusetts

Senator Jamie Eldridge
Lead Sponsor, Single Payer Bill

Professor Elmer Freeman
Northeastern University Community Healthcare Program

Professor Gerald Friedman
University of Massachusetts – Amherst, Economics

Representative Denise Garlick
Lead Sponsor, Single Payer bill

Peter Hiam
Former Commissioner of Insurance for Massachusetts

David Himmelstein MD
Physicians for a National Health Care Program

Thea James MD
Boston University School of Medicine

Susan Leslie
Unitarian Universalist Association

Katie Murphy RN
Mass Nurses Association

Brian O’Malley MD
Cape Cod Single Payer Activist

Julie Pinkham RN
Executive Director, Massachusetts Nurses Association

John Polk MD
Associate Dean, Boston University School of Medicine

Barbara Roop JD PhD
Leader for Single Payer

Grace Ross
The Massachusetts Alliance Against Predatory Lending

Alan Sager PhD
Professor, Boston University School of Public Health

Debbie Socolar
Former Educator, Boston University School of Public Health

Jass Stewart
Single Payer Activist, Brockton, MA

Steven Tolman
President, AFL-CIO Massachusetts

Bill Walczak
Boston leader Single Payer

Jamie Willmuth
Labor Leader, SEIU

Rand Wilson
Labor Leader, SEIU

Daniel A. Wolf
Former State Senator

Jackie Wolf PhD
Former Co-Chair Mass-Care

Steffie Woolhandler MD
Physicians for a National Health Care Program